scoop! the clarion fund is…

17 09 2008

…or, rather, may be closely linked to, the Centre for Security Policy, an ultraright think tank designed to shape neocon policy and come up with new, innovative reasons to make Islam illegal and bomb Iran. If the Clarion Fund isn’t closely linked to the Center for Security Research, we can at least say they’re not terribly imaginative: a good chunk of the material at Clarion’s RadicalIslam.org web site is lifted straight from CSP-related sources.

Take, for instance, the magnum opus Where are all the Liberal Muslims? Penned by Frank Gaffney Jr, the head of the Center for Security Policy. You might recognise Frank Gaffney Jr’s name as a primary agent of the movement against Sharia Compliant Finance (SCF). His main reason for opposing this easy and legal means to incorporate Muslim money into the free market is his (some might say insane) opinion that SCF is composed entirely of the proceeds of limb amputation and wife beating. He’s also notable for quoting David Yerushelmi of the Society of Americans for National Existence, who one great pundit once described as “not so much a self-hating Jew as a Jew who hates the vast majority of other Jews,” as if Yerushelmi wasn’t a lunatic but rather a serious commentator on Sharia finance schemes.

Okay, so maybe the links aren’t really that close–there’s a couple other articles on there from CSP-related sources. But check it: centerforsecuritypolicy.org’s WHOIS reveals they were registered by GoDaddy.com under a domain anonymizer called Domains by Proxy, Inc of Scottsdale AZ.

clarionfund.org were also registered by GoDaddy.com under a domain anonymizer called Domains by Proxy, Inc of Scottsdale AZ.

And radicalislam.org? You guessed it: Registered by GoDaddy.com under a domain anonymizer called Domains by Proxy, Inc of Scottsdale AZ.

And I suppose it just so happens that Domains by Proxy, Inc hail from Arizona, the very state of which John McCain is currently Senator!

Coincidence?

Well, probably.


Actions

Information

8 responses

19 09 2008
Obsession: Radical Islam’s War Against the West | Ohnezu.net

[…] a possibility put forth by Abdiel: Islam on the West […]

21 09 2008
Lisa Silverman

Thanks for sleuthing out this Clarion Fund. I sent them an e-mail last week inquiring about their disgusting Islamaphobic propaganda and no one wrote me back. Another website I was on said it was a radical Jewish group pumping out this garbage. I have yet to confirm that because as you know, there are no links to who these people are. I like your AZ-McCain connection theory.

It pains me that U.S. newspapers all over the country have compromised their integrity by taking money from the Clarion Fund to distribute these hateful dvd’s. In Pittsburgh, the Post-Gazette only printed letters to the editor from readers against the dvd’s distribution (they were distibuted in last Sunday’s paper), but this is a small consolation for something the Post-Gazette shouldn’t have done in the first place.

22 09 2008
SMG

Thanks for doing the research. I just got this piece of crap in my mailbox and pitched it. I’m a 45 yr old mother of three from Ohio and I’m not gonna have someone send this filth to me unsolicited. I think I’m gonna complain to someone……..not sure who yet. Maybe I’ll complain to alot of people until I get the right one.

23 09 2008
Helen

This is the second DVD I have rceived this weeek. I plan on contacting my newspaper and let them know I will cancel my subscription as I do not want this kind of filth sent to me. I plan on contacting everyone I know and let them know just how dirty and evil the Republicans can be. This same type of thing happened the last two elections, it is really digusting.

24 09 2008
Matt

wow, i got this in the mail…i heard about it….I heard people say they believed it…and they said they were scared…if anything this is the most widely spread biased information i have ever heard of. how can this be distributed. this is virtual terrorism of the worst kind. i am appalled.

25 09 2008
Sarah Duncan

I just received this today and decided I’m burning it and sending it back to them.

26 09 2008
Lee

I received mine today and before I even opened it I “knew” it was propaganda BS
Full of hateful information and scare tactics.

I decided to look up this “clarionfund.org” and found many people posting on boards and blogs ARE aware that this is CRAP!
Thank goodness there are many smart people left! lol

Anyway, the weird part is, they sent it to me using my middle name….which no one else uses…annnnyway

But, how dare they send this drivel, bs garbage to me or anyone!

Oh and by the way, the package that was sent to us…didn’t have the dvd in it
YIPPY I say (quality control screwed up?) Well, I hope they screw up ‘everyone’s” copy!

26 09 2008
update: teh jooz did it! « abdiel | islam on the wet coast

[…] teh jooz did it! 22 09 2008 Okay, so it’s come to my attention that my previous post on the Clarion Fund got just about all of it wrong, which isn’t surprising considering I hadn’t really put […]

Leave a comment